Associate Professor Karla Sierralta and Brian Strawn are Nationally Recognized

Each year, ACSA honors architectural educators for exemplary work that inspire and challenge students, contribute to the profession’s knowledge base, and extend their work beyond the borders of academy into practice and public sector.

Associate Professor Karla Sierralta and Brian Strawn, Senior Research Associate, University of Hawaiʻi Community Design Center, received the 2022 Architecture Education Collaborative Practice Award for their project “Future of Hawaiʻi’s Housing.”

The Future of Hawaiʻi’s Housing is a bottom-up exploratory research collaboration that explores housing for all in the Hawaiian Archipelago. The project began with interviewing 30 families on 5 islands and was conducted for the Hawaii Public Housing Authority through the University of Hawaiʻi Community Design Center.

This award was established by Thomas Dutton and Anthony Schuman to recognize ACSA’s commitment to community partnerships aiming to address issues of social injustice through design.

The Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) is an international association of architecture schools leading in architectural education and research. Its membership includes all of the accredited professional degree programs in the United States and Canada, as well as international schools and 2- and 4-year programs.

For more information, view the ACSA press release and the ACSA announcement.

UH News